2023 CAC Games Track and Field Results


San Salvador 2023 will showcase some of the region’s finest athletes. Christine Amertil from Grenada won two-time World Indoor titles, while Aaron Armstrong and Sevatheda Fynes from Trinidad and Tobago will both sprint.

Arkansas Razorback Ayden Owens-Delerme claimed Puerto Rico’s first decathlon gold medal since 2010 at the CAC games and set an event record.

Ayden Owens-Delerme (Puerto Rico) – Decathlon Gold

Ayden Owens-Delerme is an NCAA medal contender in the decathlon and college decathlon competition at the University of Michigan Men’s Track Team. A proud Puerto Rican, Ayden is also proudly represented as a student-athlete in the University’s track team.

He set an all-time collegiate score at the 2022 Mt. SAC Relays with 8,528 points – shattering his previous mark – but the long season is taking its toll.

Razorbacks co-SEC Outdoor Scholar, Athlete of the Year, has opted not to compete in this week’s SEC and NCAA championship meets due to nagging injuries; he still plans on running hurdles races as well as joining 400 and 1,600-meter relay teams for competition.

Yariel Soto Torrado (Puerto Rico) – Decathlon Silver

Razorback Ayden Owens-Delerme and Yariel Soto Torrado earned medals during Day 1 of the decathlon competition at the 2023 CAC Games, with Owens-Delerme leading with 8,281 points while Soto Torrado finished third overall, earning both awards as Puerto Rico earned its first gold and bronze finishes since 1982 when Liston Bochette and Marcos Sanchez claimed second and third respectively.

Two athletes compete at Estadio Nacional Jorge El Magico Gonzalez Stadium in San Salvador.

Keisa Monterola (Venezuela) – Pole Vaulter Gold


A University of Minnesota freshman clinched gold at the Pan American Junior Games with a clearance of 13-9 1/4, exceeding her previous best of 13-11 1/4 set during qualifying rounds.

Keisa Monterola emerged victorious as an unexpected pole vault finals winner at Eastern Washington University, setting indoor and outdoor records with her 14-4 indoor performance and 14-0 outdoor debut, respectively. Monterola also won two Big Sky championships before finishing third at the South American junior and youth championships.

Arantxa King (Bermuda) – Triple Jump Gold

At the 37th K of C Relays at Bishop Hedricken HS in Warwick, RI, Bermudian triple jumper Arantxa King set an unprecedented freshman class record of 219’4″ for this event – bettering her predecessor by over three feet since 1984! This new mark overtook their former standard that had stood for 35 years.

Stanford sophomore Arantxa King was chosen as part of Bermuda’s Olympic team for Beijing through the IAAF female at-large selection process, competing in the long jump. King has international experience, winning silver at the Central American and Caribbean Games in 2008. She is also two-time NCAA runner-up and All-American and has represented her home nation at the Pan American Games 2007.

Aaron Armstrong (Trinidad & Tobago) – 100m Hurdles Gold

Armstrong earned four Olympic relay gold medals in 2008 and a 100-meter bronze at the Commonwealth Games held in Delhi in 2010. Born 14 October 1977 and representing Trinidad & Tobago.

Saint Lucians Delan Edwin (Castries) and Micky Ferdinand (Micoud) should fare well at the Estadio Nacional Jorge El Magico Gonzalez Stadium in San Salvador during men’s sprinting events at Estadio Nacional Jorge El Magico Gonzalez on July 3, with semifinals for 100 m dash and 200 m hurdles taking place on that date before finals later that afternoon; you can view a complete schedule here.

Juan Pedro Toledo (Mexico) – 200m Hurdles Gold

Estadio Olimpico Universitario in Mexico City boasts an illustrious history as host for many of athletics’ premier events – two Olympic Games and 24 world records!

Vidushi Persaud-McKinnon, Secretary General of GOA, stated that despite repeated formal requests and extensions of deadlines for AAG to submit athletes’ extended list information, they have failed to do so.

This team consists of 19 field-event athletes under the direction of Orville Byfield as head coach, most with college experience and some international experience.

Dorian Scott (Jamaica) – Javelin Gold

She gambled everything on her sixth and final attempt in the East Preliminary competition – culminating in a golden scream that sent her discus sailing into the night, sealing a trip to the NCAA Outdoor Championships, and breaking her Jamaican national record.

Seminole athletes were among those to shine during day two of the Atlantic Coast Conference meet, led by Eleonora Omoregie and Jogaile Petrokaite, who each added more gold to the team total, while senior Isaiah Harris twice improved upon his previous best in high jump for an outstanding third-place performance in that event.

Zulia Calatayud (Cuba) – Shot Put Gold

Zulia Calatayud, 2004 World Champion and bronze medallist in the 4x400m relay at the 2001-2006 Olympic Games, set a personal best toss of 17.60 meters against Austra Skujyte from Lithuania by more than 500 points.

Cartagena’s Pedro de Uribe Stadium witnessed six records break on the final day of the athletics competition at Cartagena. Jamaican Dorian Scott set a world junior record in the Shot Put, while Mexican Robison Pratt also set new heights with 5.50 meters being cleared after failing at his initial two attempts.

Yoger Medina (Venezuela) – Hammer Throw Gold

On Tuesday, the 20th Central American and Caribbean Games kick off in Cartagena’s Pedro de Heredia Stadium, with several World, Olympic, and NACAC championship medallists set to compete. Mexican 200m runner Juan Pedro Toledo; Jamaican 400m hurdlers Aaron Armstrong and Kevon Pierre; Cuba’s double Olympic silver medallist Yipsi Moreno are expected to improve upon their performances from Helsinki last year; Yumileidi Cumba will try her hardest to break Games records; she will compete alongside Olympian Yumileidi Cumba while Olympic and World champion Zulia Calatayud as long jumper Irving Saladino will try their best as long jumper Irving Saladino will aim to break Games records; NACAC junior outdoor high jump record holder Isaiah Schafer will also compete.