The World Series


The World Series is an annual championship series of the Major League Baseball (MLB) that is contested between the champion teams of the National League and the American League. It has been held since 1903, and the current finalists are the Cleveland Indians and the Washington Senators.

Washington Senators/Nationals (AL) defeat New York Giants (NL)

Washington Senators defeated New York Giants in seven games in 1924 to win their first American League championship. They also broke a seven-year monopoly on the AL title. In addition to their record, they were the only team to win the league pennant and then go on to win the World Series.

Game 1 was played in Washington DC at Griffith Stadium on October 4, 1924. It was the first of two World Series games played at the stadium. Both teams threw complete games, with the National League winning by a score of 2-1.

The game went to extra innings. New York had a 1-0 lead, and would have been two outs away from winning the Series. However, the Senators tied the game in the bottom of the ninth.

Minnesota Twins become first team in the history of the World Series to win the championship

The Minnesota Twins won their first World Series in 1924. Their second championship came in 1987 and 1991 as the Twins. This was the team’s third trip to the postseason in the last three years, averaging about one game per year.

Although the Twins are regarded as underdogs against big payrolls, it is worth noting that they have made the playoffs nine times since 1991, and have been defeated by a better team six of those times. They lost to the Atlanta Braves in the first round in 2006.

In their early years, the Twins were a team of no-names that competed in the AL West. They had a long streak of losing records. When they won the division, it was their first pennant in 32 years. However, they also finished in the cellar for the second time in three years.

Houston Astros win the 2022 edition of the World Series

The Houston Astros have won the 2022 World Series. They are the second World Series champions in franchise history. It marks their second consecutive championship, and the fourth in the past six seasons.

After winning the ALCS in the regular season, the Astros advanced to the World Series. They began their postseason with an 11-2 record and swept the Yankees in The Bronx. In game 5, the Astros posted a combined no-hitter. This marked the first World Series no-hitter since 1956.

The Astros won in Game 6 to secure their second title. Yordan Alvarez hit a three-run home run in the bottom of the sixth inning. That gave the Astros a 2-1 lead. Bryce Harper was stranded at first.

Astros relievers were impressive in the postseason. Their bullpen had a 0.83 ERA. Three different relief pitchers posted FIP under 2.70.

Cleveland Indians defeat Brooklyn Robins/Dodgers (NL)

The Cleveland Indians beat the Brooklyn Robins/Dodgers in a three-game series in 1920. This was the Indians’ sixth World Series appearance in 116 years.

It was the team’s first title in the Fall Classic. They won a total of five games to two.

In Game Three, Cleveland took a 2-1 lead. But it was the 11th-inning RBI single by Eddie Murray that won the game. During the series, the Indians won eight of their nine games by one run or less.

One of the great highlights of the 1920 World Series was the pitching duels. Both teams put on amazing displays. Coveleski and Grimes were among the top performers.

Coveleski struck out three and allowed two runs in a complete-game victory. His numbers were a good match for Christy Mathewson’s performance in the 1905 Series.

New York Yankees played in 29 World Series championships from 1920 to 1964

The Yankees’ dynasty spanned 29 World Series wins, which makes them one of the most successful teams in sports history. They are known for a combination of high-powered offense and a top-notch starting rotation.

During their dynasty, the team won five World Series in the 1950s, four in the 1970s, three in the 1980s, and two in the 1990s. These teams were also known as the Gashouse Gang, thanks to the pitching of their Hall of Famers.

The dynasty also included a number of famous players, including Yogi Berra, Christy Mathewson, and Whitey Ford. Yogi won the AL Most Valuable Player Award in 1972, 1972, and 1961, and made the All-Star Game every year from 1948 to 1962. He also helped the Yankees win 10 World Series rings.